Autzen Stadium

Ahmad Rashad

Read More

1971 - Bobby Moore, now known as Ahmad Rashad, became the first 1,000-yard rusher in Oregon history. After originally starting his UO career as a wide receiver, Rashad moved to running back in 1971 and was named an All-American. He was drafted fourth overall in the 1972 NFL draft by the St. Louis Cardinals. After a 10-year professional career, Rashad made the move to broadcasting. He is best known on the airwaves as the host of NBA Inside Stuff on NBC for 16 seasons. Moore studied Islam while attending the UO and, after converting, changed his name to Ahmad Rashad in 1973. He was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2007.

Akili Smith

Read More

1998 - Star quarterback Akili Smith was the first player in UO football history to be named the Pac-10 Player of the Year. Smith and the Ducks were ranked as high as No. 11 in the Associated Press top-25 poll in 1998, as they went on to an 8-4 record. Smith threw for a conference-best 3,763 yards in his electric senior season with 32 touchdowns and just eight interceptions. He ranked No. 1 in the NCAA in both yards per play (8.7) and yards per pass (10.1).

Jonathan Stewart

Read More

2007 - Powerhouse running back Jonathan Stewart became Oregon's first two-time first team All-American since moving to Autzen Stadium in 1967. College Football Hall of Famer Mel Renfro, in 1962 and 1963, did it while the Ducks still played at Hayward Field. A semifinalist for both the Maxwell Award and the Doak Walker Award, Stewart led the Pac-10 with 1,722 rushing yards in 2007 and scored 13 total touchdowns. He was also a standout kick returner, leading the Pac-10 in return yardage in 2005 and 2006. Stewart was selected with the 13th overall pick in the 2008 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. He recently retired after a 10-year career in which he ran for 7,335 yards and 51 total touchdowns.

LaMichael James

Read More

2010 - Running back LaMichael James was the first unanimous All-American in Oregon football history. He was also the winner of the Doak Walker Award for the nation's top running back and a runner-up for the Heisman Trophy. James led the NCAA in both total yards (1,939) and touchdowns (24) in 2010. After another standout season in 2011, James was selected by the San Francisco 49ers in the second round of the NFL draft.

Willie Taggart

Read More

2017 - Willie Taggart became the first Black head coach in the history of Oregon football. When he was hired, there were only 14 Black head coaches out of 128 FBS NCAA football teams.

Directions to next stop - Papé Field

Continue along the Southeast edge of Autzen Stadium to Papé Field, where the Oregon soccer and lacrosse teams now compete.